Nokta

Нокта

Bulat Galeev and the Prometey Research Institute: Russia's first art experiments with light that influenced contemporary media art
Laser projections creation that can be infinitely modified
S E T U P (Moscow, Russia)
62 Beloglazov Street

Context

Bulat Galeev and the Prometey Research Institute: Russia's first art experiments with light that influenced contemporary media art.

Bulat Galeev is a scientist and artist from Tatarstan, who stood at the origins of the Russian media art. He was a member of the Soviet experimental association called the Prometey Research Institute. His modern successors Moscow-based S E T U P studio made a series of laser projections in Almetyevsk, which are devoted to research of laser projections, nature and visual code of the town.

In the early 60s «Laboratory 26a» was established on the base of the Kazan Aviation Institute. Later it was renamed into the Prometey Research Institute as a tribute to Alexander Scriabin's poem, the first writing ever with a lighting plot. «Prometey» founders were inspired by abstract ideas of Wassily Kandinskiy, which were formulated by Anatoly Lunacharsky: «The music of colour, symphony of patterns and linear melodies is quite conceivable, especially in fusion with the music of sounds».
The Prometey Research Institute invented music-light devices that react to sounds by changing their glow. They also created the USSR's first media installations, and scientists also conducted experiments in the field of light architecture. A graduate of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics Bulat Galeev joined the team of the Research Institute from the first years of its existence and soon became the head of the laboratory.

Bulat Galeev (1940–2009) is a physician, engineer, constructor, pioneer of Russian media art and specialist in the synthesis theory of various types of arts.

Galeev kept a lively correspondence with Western artists and composers, adherents of scientific progress Nicolas Schöffer, Frank Malina, Yanis Ksenakis, Lev Termen and Stelarc. For half a century he created a number of great projects that have influenced contemporary media art. For instance, he made an installation called «The dogs bark, but the camels move on», where a computer drawn big camel walked slowly to the music «Bolero» by Maurice Ravel. Under the screen with the camel there was another screen with a synchronously barking dog.

Another cult work is the automated system «Man-machine»: there was a light-music performance on the screen, which appeared there only when the system worked normally. When the system failed, the performance was displaced. The installation called «Mellow Chime» illuminated the walls of the Kazan Kremlin's belfry in proportion to the volume of the bell.
A portrait photograph of Bulat Galeev.
Bulat Galeev and the music installation «Crystal», 1964.
Projection light and music installation «Kaleidophone», 1982.
Bulat Galeev is a scientist and artist from Tatarstan, who stood at the origins of the Russian media art. He was a member of the Soviet experimental association called the Prometey Research Institute. His modern successors Moscow-based S E T U P studio made a series of laser projections in Almetyevsk, which are devoted to research of laser projections, nature and visual code of the town.

In the early 60s «Laboratory 26a» was established on the base of the Kazan Aviation Institute. Later it was renamed into the Prometey Research Institute as a tribute to Alexander Scriabin's poem, the first writing ever with a lighting plot. «Prometey» founders were inspired by abstract ideas of Wassily Kandinskiy, which were formulated by Anatoly Lunacharsky: «The music of colour, symphony of patterns and linear melodies is quite conceivable, especially in fusion with the music of sounds».

The Prometey Research Institute invented music-light devices that react to sounds by changing their glow. They also created the USSR's first media installations, and scientists also conducted experiments in the field of light architecture. A graduate of the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics Bulat Galeev joined the team of the Research Institute from the first years of its existence and soon became the head of the laboratory.

Bulat Galeev (1940–2009) is a physician, engineer, constructor, pioneer of Russian media art and specialist in the synthesis theory of various types of arts.

Galeev kept a lively correspondence with Western artists and composers, adherents of scientific progress Nicolas Schöffer, Frank Malina, Yanis Ksenakis, Lev Termen and Stelarc. For half a century he created a number of great projects that have influenced contemporary media art. For instance, he made an installation called «The dogs bark, but the camels move on», where a computer drawn big camel walked slowly to the music «Bolero» by Maurice Ravel. Under the screen with the camel there was another screen with a synchronously barking dog.

Another cult work is the automated system «Man-machine»: there was a light-music performance on the screen, which appeared there only when the system worked normally. When the system failed, the performance was displaced. The installation called «Mellow Chime» illuminated the walls of the Kazan Kremlin's belfry in proportion to the volume of the bell.
A portrait photograph of Bulat Galeev.
Bulat Galeev and the music installation «Crystal», 1964.
Projection light and music installation «Kaleidophone», 1982.

Process

Art form: laser media installation
Style: new media art
Method: laser projection, video mapping, generative projection
Material: lasers

Moscow-based crew installed a staged light projection on the walls of the local heating station area (APTS №2). Seven lasers installed outside the station area project five scenes on the walls of the building, which are devoted to the topics of nature, energy, digital art, local visual code and the art studio heritage. Scenes change automatically and are played at night.

Significance of this artwork is encoded in its name. From Tatarian «nokta» means a dot, or a point. It is a word which derived from the Arabic language. In philosophy the term «point» stands for the intersection of the conceivable and the visible. It is the basement of the whole ground, it is the beginning and the end. Point on the world map is the place endowed with a special visual code and culture. A point in space and plane is an abstract object, lying in the ground of any geometric figure. Comprehending all the mentioned meanings of the word, S E T U P studio artist Pavel Zmunchila explains: «A laser beam is almost the same point, which can move in space at a high speed. The result of its moving we recognize as a complex geometric pattern, which in fact can be seen on the installation». The laser projection made with a multitude of abstract points becomes a symbolic beginning of the artistic comprehension of the surrounding space: its visual culture and physical position.
A laser is in operation, Almetyevsk, 2019.
Installation of lasers, Almetyevsk, 2019.
Moscow-based crew installed a staged light projection on the walls of the local heating station area (APTS №2). Seven lasers installed outside the station area project five scenes on the walls of the building, which are devoted to the topics of nature, energy, digital art, local visual code and the art studio heritage. Scenes change automatically and are played at night.

Significance of this artwork is encoded in its name. From Tatarian «nokta» means a dot, or a point. It is a word which derived from the Arabic language. In philosophy the term «point» stands for the intersection of the conceivable and the visible. It is the basement of the whole ground, it is the beginning and the end. Point on the world map is the place endowed with a special visual code and culture. A point in space and plane is an abstract object, lying in the ground of any geometric figure. Comprehending all the mentioned meanings of the word, S E T U P studio artist Pavel Zmunchila explains: «A laser beam is almost the same point, which can move in space at a high speed. The result of its moving we recognize as a complex geometric pattern, which in fact can be seen on the installation». The laser projection made with a multitude of abstract points becomes a symbolic beginning of the artistic comprehension of the surrounding space: its visual culture and physical position.
Installation of lasers, Almetyevsk, 2019.
A laser is in operation, Almetyevsk, 2019.
Moreover, the laser installation is projected on the building of APTS №2, where another artwork is already placed, a mural «Theories of the Genesis of Oil» by Artem Stefanov. It brings an additional sense to the installation: oil turns into a symbolic point, from which the urban development of Almetyevsk has started.

One of the distinctive features of the artwork is the continuity of the projection covering the building walls. «We made lots of things for the first time. For example, we supplied such a huge area with lasers, then joined the projections», Pavel Zmunchila recalls. «The thing is that one laser simultaneously projects an image on the piece of wall, stacks and other objects, which have their own geometry. Almost no one takes on such a project. In Russia no one has done this before».

The whole series of projections lasts for 12 minutes. The first one outlines the contour of the APTS №2 building. The second one «cuts» the object, demonstrating the interior of the station. The artists used not only futuristic colours for installation but also common for these places patterns. For example, red and green are the colours of the national flag of Tatarstan. The third scene was done using generative graphics techniques, in other words it was created by a mathematical algorithm, which never repeats the same patterns of the image. This part of the artwork is completely controlled by the computer code, and it raises the question about the role of new technologies in the world. The fourth scene reflects a visual code of Almetyevsk: traditional Tatar floral patterns. The last scene is video mapping. During this performance three-dimensional projections are created and superimposed on the mural of Artem Stefanov, outlining the contours of the work.


Interesting facts about the work:

2 weeks was the term of the object installation.
7 lasers create the projection sequence on the APTS №2 building.
5 scenes are projected on the walls.
12 minutes is the overall time of the laser light installation.

Author


Pavel Zmunchila has founded S E T U P studio together with Dmitriy Znamensky and Stepan Novikov in 2018. Participants are engaged in light design and they work in the field of technological art. They are involved in constant search for new connections between light and sound. They also explore the expressive possibilities of the latest visual programming languages. The main goal of S E T U P is to create installations and multimedia artworks that can sharpen the physical perception of surrounding things.

The crew has worked with light and special visual context for Maxim Didenko's «Norm» stage play. They also participated in the «Here and Now» exhibition in the Moscow Manege and created installations for «Signal» and «Alfa Future People» festivals. S E T U P took part in the decoration of many events for the Moscow club «Mutabor».
Main stage of «Alfa Future People» festival, Nizhny Novgorod, 2019.
«Nokta», Almetyevsk, 2019.
Pavel Zmunchila has founded S E T U P studio together with Dmitriy Znamensky and Stepan Novikov in 2018. Participants are engaged in light design and they work in the field of technological art. They are involved in constant search for new connections between light and sound. They also explore the expressive possibilities of the latest visual programming languages. The main goal of S E T U P is to create installations and multimedia artworks that can sharpen the physical perception of surrounding things.

The crew has worked with light and special visual context for Maxim Didenko's «Norm» stage play. They also participated in the «Here and Now» exhibition in the Moscow Manege and created installations for «Signal» and «Alfa Future People» festivals. S E T U P took part in the decoration of many events for the Moscow club «Mutabor».
Main stage of «Alfa Future People» festival, Nizhny Novgorod, 2019.
«Nokta», Almetyevsk, 2019.

Address

Nokta
All objects
GET EMAIL NEWSLETTERS REGARDING PROJECT NEWS AND EVENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS
By clicking the button, I agree to the processing of personal data.
© 2022 Street Art Research Institute
Made by Gonzo Design

Булат Галеев и НИИ «Прометей»: первые в России художественные эксперименты со светом, повлиявшие на современный медиа-арт
Создание лазерных проекций, которые можно бесконечно изменять
С Е Т А П (Москва, Россия)
Белоглазова, 62

Нокта

Нокта

Контекст

Булат Галеев и НИИ «Прометей»: первые в России художественные эксперименты со светом, повлиявшие на современный медиа-арт.

У истоков российского медиа-арта стоит Булат Галеев — учёный и художник из Татарстана, состоявший в советском экспериментальным объединении НИИ "Прометей". Современные последователи Булата — московская студия С Е Т А П — создали в Альметьевске серию лазерных проекций, исследующих цифровое искусство, природу и визуальный код города.

В начале 60-х на базе Казанского авиационного института основали «Лабораторию 26а», позже её назвали НИИ «Прометей» — в честь поэмы Александра Скрябина, первого в истории произведения со световой партитурой. Основатели «Прометея» вдохновлялись абстрактными идеями Василия Кандинского, которые сформулировал Анатолий Луначарский: «Музыка колорита, симфония красок и линейные мелодии вполне мыслимы, в особенности в слиянии с музыкой звуков».
В НИИ «Прометей» изобретали светомузыкальные устройства, реагирующие на звуки изменением в свечении ламп, создавали первые в СССР медиа-инсталляции, а также проводили эксперименты в области световой архитектуры. Выпускник физико-математического факультета Булат Галеев примкнул к команде НИИ с первых лет его существования и вскоре стал руководителем лаборатории.

Булат Галеев (1940–2009) — физик, инженер, конструктор, пионер отечественного медиа-арта и специалист по теории синтеза различных видов искусств.

Галеев вел активную переписку с западными художниками и композиторами, адептами научного прогресса и искусства Николя Шеффером, Франком Малиной, Янисом Ксенакисом, Львом Терменом и Стеларком. За полвека работы он создал ряд культовых проектов, повлиявших на современное направление в искусстве - медиа-арт. Например, инсталляцию «Собака лает, караван идет», где на большом экране под музыку «Болеро» Равеля медленно шагал нарисованный на компьютере верблюд, а под экраном был установлен телевизор с синхронно лающей собакой.

Ещё одна культовая работа — автоматизированная система «Человек-машина»: при нормальной работе системы на экране воспроизводилась светомузыкальная картинка, а при сбое изображение вытеснялось. Установка «Малиновый звон» освещала стены звонницы казанского Кремля пропорционально громкости звучания колокола.
Фотопортрет Булата Галеева.
Булат Галеев за светомузыкальной установкой «Кристалл», 1964 год.
Проекционная светомузыкальная установка «Калейдофон», 1982 год.
У истоков российского медиа-арта стоит Булат Галеев — учёный и художник из Татарстана, состоявший в советском экспериментальным объединении НИИ "Прометей". Современные последователи Булата — московская студия С Е Т А П — создали в Альметьевске серию лазерных проекций, исследующих цифровое искусство, природу и визуальный код города.

В начале 60-х на базе Казанского авиационного института основали «Лабораторию 26а», позже её назвали НИИ «Прометей» — в честь поэмы Александра Скрябина, первого в истории произведения со световой партитурой. Основатели «Прометея» вдохновлялись абстрактными идеями Василия Кандинского, которые сформулировал Анатолий Луначарский: «Музыка колорита, симфония красок и линейные мелодии вполне мыслимы, в особенности в слиянии с музыкой звуков».

В НИИ «Прометей» изобретали светомузыкальные устройства, реагирующие на звуки изменением в свечении ламп, создавали первые в СССР медиа-инсталляции, а также проводили эксперименты в области световой архитектуры. Выпускник физико-математического факультета Булат Галеев примкнул к команде НИИ с первых лет его существования и вскоре стал руководителем лаборатории.

Булат Галеев (1940–2009) — физик, инженер, конструктор, пионер отечественного медиа-арта и специалист по теории синтеза различных видов искусств.

Галеев вел активную переписку с западными художниками и композиторами, адептами научного прогресса и искусства Николя Шеффером, Франком Малиной, Янисом Ксенакисом, Львом Терменом и Стеларком. За полвека работы он создал ряд культовых проектов, повлиявших на современное направление в искусстве - медиа-арт. Например, инсталляцию «Собака лает, караван идет», где на большом экране под музыку «Болеро» Равеля медленно шагал нарисованный на компьютере верблюд, а под экраном был установлен телевизор с синхронно лающей собакой.

Ещё одна культовая работа — автоматизированная система «Человек-машина»: при нормальной работе системы на экране воспроизводилась светомузыкальная картинка, а при сбое изображение вытеснялось. Установка «Малиновый звон» освещала стены звонницы казанского Кремля пропорционально громкости звучания колокола.
Фотопортрет Булата Галеева.
Булат Галеев за светомузыкальной установкой «Кристалл», 1964 год.
Проекционная светомузыкальная установка «Калейдофон», 1982 год.

Процесс

Форма арт-объекта: лазерная медиа-инсталляция
Направление: медиа-арт
Прием: лазерная проекция, видеомэппинг, генеративная проекция
Используемый материал: лазеры

Московская команда создала в Альметьевске срежисированную световую проекцию на здании АПТС №2. Семь лазеров, установленных за периметром котельной, проецируют на строение пять сцен, исследующих темы природы, энергии, цифрового искусства, локального визуального кода и наследия творческого объединения. Сцены сменяются автоматически и воспроизводятся в ночное время.

Значение арт-объекта зашифровано в его названии. В переводе с татарского языка «нокта» — это точка, пункт. Слово, пришедшее из арабского языка. В философии «точка» есть пересечение мыслимого и зримого, основа всего, начало и конец. «Точка» на карте планеты — это место, наделенное особым визуальным кодом и культурой. В пространстве и плоскости точка — абстрактный объект, лежащий в основе любой геометрической фигуры. Осмысляя все значения этого слова, художник творческого объединения С Е Т А П Павел Змунчила объясняет: «Лазерный луч — это та же точка, только перемещающаяся в пространстве с высокой скоростью. И результат этого движения мы воспринимаем как сложный геометрический рисунок, как то, что мы фактически видим на лазерной инсталляции». Лазерная проекция, сотканная из множества абстрактных объектов — точек, становится символическим началом художественного осмысления окружающего пространства: его визуальной культуры и физического положения.
Лазер в работе, Альметьевск, 2019 год.
Монтаж лазеров, Альметьевск, 2019 год.
Московская команда создала в Альметьевске срежисированную световую проекцию на здании АПТС №2. Семь лазеров, установленных за периметром котельной, проецируют на строение пять сцен, исследующих темы природы, энергии, цифрового искусства, локального визуального кода и объединения. Сцены сменяются автоматически и воспроизводятся в ночное время.

Значение арт-объекта зашифровано в его названии. В переводе с татарского языка «нокта» — это точка, пункт. Слово, пришедшее из арабского языка. В философии «точка» есть пересечение мыслимого и зримого, основа всего, начало и конец. «Точка» на карте планеты — это место, наделенное особым визуальным кодом и культурой. В пространстве и плоскости точка — абстрактный объект, лежащий в основе любой геометрической фигуры. Осмысляя все значения этого слова, художник творческого объединения С Е Т А П Павел Змунчила объясняет: «Лазерный луч — это та же точка, только перемещающаяся в пространстве с высокой скоростью. И результат этого движения мы воспринимаем как сложный геометрический рисунок, как то, что мы фактически видим на лазерной инсталляции». Лазерная проекция, сотканная из множества абстрактных объектов — точек, становится символическим началом художественного осмысления окружающего пространства: его визуальной культуры и физического положения.
Монтаж лазеров, Альметьевск, 2019 год.
Лазер в работе, Альметьевск, 2019 год.
Кроме того, лазерная проекция «Нокта» нанесена на здание АПТС №2, где уже размещается другой предмет искусства – мурал Артема Стефанова «Теория происхождения нефти». Это придает инсталляции дополнительный смысл: нефть превращается в символическую точку, с которой началось градостроительное развитие Альметьевска.

Одна из отличительных особенностей работы в том, что проекция, охватывающая здание котельной, непрерывна. «Многое нам пришлось делать впервые: обрабатывать такую большую площадь лазерами, сшивать проекции, — вспоминает Павел. — Дело в том, что один прибор одновременно проецирует изображение на кусок стены, трубы и еще несколько объектов, каждый из которых имеет свою геометрию. Мало, кто в мире берется за подобные проекты. А в России, по-моему, не берутся вообще».

Вся серия лазерных проекций длится 12 минут, и первая из них обрисовывает контур здания АПТС №2. Вторая как бы разрезает объект, демонстрируя внутреннее устройство котельной. При этом художники используют как футуристические цвета, так и гамму, близкую жителям этих мест. Например, красный и зеленый — цвета национального флага республики Татарстан. Третья сцена полностью выполнена в технике генеративной графики, то есть создана математическим алгоритмом, который никогда не повторяет одинаковый паттерн изображения. Эта часть произведения полностью подчинена компьютерному коду и ставит вопрос о роли новых технологий в нашем мире. В четвертой сцене отражается визуальный код Альметьевска — традиционные татарские растительные узоры. Заключительная сцена — видеомэппинг. В ходе нее трехмерные проекции создаются и накладываются на мурал Артема Стефанова, очерчивая контуры работы.


Интересные факты о работе:

2 недели занял монтаж объекта.
7 лазеров создают последовательность проекций на АПТС № 2.
5 сцен проецируются на здание.
12 минут длится лазерно-световая инсталляция.

Автор


Павел Змунчила организовал студию С Е Т А П вместе с Дмитрием Знаменским и Степаном Новиковым в 2018 году. Участники занимаются световым дизайном и работают в области технологического искусства, находятся в постоянном поиске новых связей между светом и звуком, изучают выразительные возможности новейших языков визуального программирования. Своей главной целью С Е Т А П ставит создание инсталляций и мультимедийных работ, способных обострить физическое восприятие того, что окружает человека.

Команда работала со светом и специальным визуальным контентом спектакля Максима Диденко «Норма», участвовала в выставке «Здесь и сейчас», проходившей в 2019 году в Центральном манеже, создавала инсталляции для фестивалей Signal и Alfa Future People, принимала участие в художественном оформлении множества мероприятий московского пространства Mutabor.
Главная сцена на фестивале Alfa Future People, Нижний Новгород, 2019 год.
«Нокта», Альметьевск, 2019 год.
Павел Змунчила организовал студию С Е Т А П вместе с Дмитрием Знаменским и Степаном Новиковым в 2018 году. Участники занимаются световым дизайном и работают в области технологического искусства, находятся в постоянном поиске новых связей между светом и звуком, изучают выразительные возможности новейших языков визуального программирования. Своей главной целью С Е Т А П ставит создание инсталляций и мультимедийных работ, способных обострить физическое восприятие того, что окружает человека.

Команда работала со светом и специальным визуальным контентом спектакля Максима Диденко «Норма», участвовала в выставке «Здесь и сейчас», проходившей в 2019 году в Центральном манеже, создавала инсталляции для фестивалей Signal и Alfa Future People, принимала участие в художественном оформлении множества мероприятий московского пространства Mutabor.
Главная сцена на фестивале Alfa Future People, Нижний Новгород, 2019 год.
«Нокта», Альметьевск, 2019 год.

Адрес

«Нокта» на карте
Все объекты на карте